Text Size

Overclocking

How to overclock Compaq Presario 2100?

Overclocking Feats, Tricks and Questions

How to overclock Compaq Presario 2100?

Postby DKDiveDude » Fri Dec 31, 2004 3:37 pm

How do I overclock a Compaq Presario 2100 laptop computer?

It currently has an Athlon XP-M 2400 cpu, which actually makes it a Presario 2145.

I am willing to modify the case, so it gets more air flow to cool down a faster cpu.

I have the service manual, so I know how to get to the cpu. I can't see from this manual if there is a cpu clock multiplier dip switch, anyone know?

Or perhaps a bios upgrade is all it takes?

I just installed two PC 3200 512MB SO-DIMM's so at least they can take some more speed, should I be able to overclock my current cpu, or buy a faster one.

Any help is highly appreciated.

Thanks
DKDiveDude
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Dec 31, 2004 3:25 pm

RE: How to overclock Compaq Presario 2100?

Postby duby229 » Fri Dec 31, 2004 3:58 pm

On thst motherboard I doubt that there are any dip switches or bios config. It's an OEM compaq, they generally make it impossible to overclock. However you still have some choices.

What chipset does the motherboard have? If its an nForce2 then there are several windows based apps that will let you overclock using software. I think this also applys to VIA boards as well, however you'll have much better luck if it's nForce2.

You can also modify the pins on the bottom of the chip to change the default FSB and multiplyer, and voltage and stuff. Altho this method is more or less a hack it may be your only choice.
MB: Gigabyte GA785GMT-UDH2
CPU: AMD Phenom II 955 BE @ 3820mhz
MEM: G. Skill DDR3-1600 2x2GB @ DDR3-1866
GFX: ATi Radeon HD 6850
OS: Gentoo Linux
User avatar
duby229
K8 Athlon 64 (San Diego) Expert Boarder
K8 Athlon 64 (San Diego) Expert Boarder
 
Posts: 1863
Joined: Wed Mar 10, 2004 8:45 pm

RE: How to overclock Compaq Presario 2100?

Postby DKDiveDude » Sat Jan 01, 2005 11:55 am

Thanks for your fast reply.

Am not 100% sure, but I think my chipset is an Ali, don't know the model either, but here is some information from the Device Mamager:

IDE ATA/ATAPI controller:
Ali M5229 PCI Bus Master IDE Controller

System devices:
ALi 7101 Power Management Controller
ALi PCI to ISA Bridge

Graphics is ATI Radeon IGP 320M

Would love to know exactly what chipset it has...
DKDiveDude
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Dec 31, 2004 3:25 pm

RE: How to overclock Compaq Presario 2100?

Postby duby229 » Sat Jan 01, 2005 12:12 pm

Yep It is an ATI. ATI 320M to be exact.

Here is my advise. Follow this link

http://www.cpuid.com/clockgen.php#support

Find a board that has the EXACT same chipset as you and download the utility next to it.
MB: Gigabyte GA785GMT-UDH2
CPU: AMD Phenom II 955 BE @ 3820mhz
MEM: G. Skill DDR3-1600 2x2GB @ DDR3-1866
GFX: ATi Radeon HD 6850
OS: Gentoo Linux
User avatar
duby229
K8 Athlon 64 (San Diego) Expert Boarder
K8 Athlon 64 (San Diego) Expert Boarder
 
Posts: 1863
Joined: Wed Mar 10, 2004 8:45 pm

RE: How to overclock Compaq Presario 2100?

Postby DKDiveDude » Sat Jan 01, 2005 1:27 pm

Well I finally found out it was the ATI IGP 320M chipset that was in my Compaq Presario 2100 laptop computer.

And after quite a bit of searching, I found the ATITool at this location http://www.techpowerup.com/atitool/, which allow some tweaks to core voltage and core frequenzy. But sliding the Core slider did not seem to have any effect.

Also there was the "Central Brain Identifier" where I was able to set a lower multiplier, but not a multiplier higher than 13.5 which is the "normal" mulltiplier, and changing the core voltage from 1.45V to 1.5V immediately froze the computer.
DKDiveDude
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Dec 31, 2004 3:25 pm

RE: How to overclock Compaq Presario 2100?

Postby duby229 » Sat Jan 01, 2005 11:30 pm

check out clockgen it IS the BEST windows based OC app on the planet. Just make sure you download a version for any board that has the EXACT same chipset as your board.
MB: Gigabyte GA785GMT-UDH2
CPU: AMD Phenom II 955 BE @ 3820mhz
MEM: G. Skill DDR3-1600 2x2GB @ DDR3-1866
GFX: ATi Radeon HD 6850
OS: Gentoo Linux
User avatar
duby229
K8 Athlon 64 (San Diego) Expert Boarder
K8 Athlon 64 (San Diego) Expert Boarder
 
Posts: 1863
Joined: Wed Mar 10, 2004 8:45 pm

RE: How to overclock Compaq Presario 2100?

Postby DKDiveDude » Sun Jan 02, 2005 3:14 pm

Check out Clockgen's home page, but my chipset and board do not seem to be supported
DKDiveDude
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Dec 31, 2004 3:25 pm

Re: How to overclock Compaq Presario 2100?

Postby DKDiveDude » Sun Nov 13, 2005 4:24 pm

I am still VERY interested in getting my Compaq Presario faster, as for example put a faster CPU in it.
DKDiveDude
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Dec 31, 2004 3:25 pm


Return to Overclocking

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest