Text Size

Memory

4GB DDR2 registered (ECC) modules?

SDRAM, DDR, DDR II, and more memory types.

4GB DDR2 registered (ECC) modules?

Postby abinstein » Thu Oct 16, 2008 5:25 am

We're buying an AMD-based 2S server. We want to populate all 8 slots to 32GB in total, but it's very hard to find 4GB modules. HP doesn't seem to offer 4GB-module configurations, while Dell offer 8x4GB them for a price over $2000! Does anyone know a reliable source to buy 4GB R-DDR2, ECC or not? Or is there any recommendation for a good AMD-based 2S server vendor which doesn't rip off customers for buying lots of memory? Thanks in advance!
abinstein
K8 Opteron (SledgeHammer) Moderator
K8 Opteron (SledgeHammer) Moderator
 
Posts: 7176
Joined: Sat Oct 30, 2004 9:49 pm

Re: 4GB DDR2 registered (ECC) modules?

Postby Boundless » Thu Oct 16, 2008 12:02 pm

abinstein: > 4GB DDR2 registered (ECC) modules?

What speed?

Crucial, for example, has both 667 and 800.
They want $350 per stick for the 800 (CT51272AB80E)
The 667 is a bit cheaper at $189 per stick (CT51272AB667)

I would ask HP about this.
If they aren't selling 4GB sticks, they haven't qualified them ...
________
... or tried to, and ran into issues.
User avatar
Boundless
K8 Athlon 64 (Orleans) Expert Boarder
K8 Athlon 64 (Orleans) Expert Boarder
 
Posts: 2001
Joined: Mon Mar 01, 2004 4:40 pm

Re: 4GB DDR2 registered (ECC) modules?

Postby abinstein » Thu Oct 16, 2008 3:25 pm

Boundless wrote:abinstein: > 4GB DDR2 registered (ECC) modules?

What speed?

Crucial, for example, has both 667 and 800.
They want $350 per stick for the 800 (CT51272AB80E)
The 667 is a bit cheaper at $189 per stick (CT51272AB667)

I think 667 is good enough for us. $189 sounds like really good price. Seems Dell really is ripping off customers who buy 4GB modules...

I would ask HP about this.
If they aren't selling 4GB sticks, they haven't qualified them ...

Okay.. I'll check. Thanks!
abinstein
K8 Opteron (SledgeHammer) Moderator
K8 Opteron (SledgeHammer) Moderator
 
Posts: 7176
Joined: Sat Oct 30, 2004 9:49 pm

Re: 4GB DDR2 registered (ECC) modules?

Postby Boundless » Thu Oct 16, 2008 3:46 pm

abinstein: > Seems Dell really is ripping off customers who buy 4GB modules...

Only those who don't realize it :).

And maybe not. If you need matched pairs ("kits") of 8GB sticks,
Crucial only has them in 667, and not 800. What is Dell offering?

Hey, at least we are mostly beyond the era of proprietary RAM.

PC and server integrator OEMs cannot usually sell RAM for less
than you can buy that same RAM in the aftermarket. This
causes many customers to buy minimum RAM configs and
post-populate. This reduces OEM RAM volume, causing
further overhead expense, higher prices, and we loop back to
the start of this paragraph.

Further, the corner case RAM configs (e.g. max stick size) are
even lower in volume, so repeat the previous para again.

If you want theRAM tested on your actual machine
(other than just boot POST), toss in some more dollars.

If you want OEM-tested and blessed RAM, you will pay for it.
______
Particularly at max perf and/or max config.
It has ever been thus.
User avatar
Boundless
K8 Athlon 64 (Orleans) Expert Boarder
K8 Athlon 64 (Orleans) Expert Boarder
 
Posts: 2001
Joined: Mon Mar 01, 2004 4:40 pm

Re: 4GB DDR2 registered (ECC) modules?

Postby abinstein » Thu Oct 16, 2008 5:54 pm

Boundless wrote:PC and server integrator OEMs cannot usually sell RAM for less
than you can buy that same RAM in the aftermarket. This
causes many customers to buy minimum RAM configs and
post-populate. This reduces OEM RAM volume, causing
further overhead expense, higher prices, and we loop back to
the start of this paragraph.

Thanks for the info.

We are looking for 32GB RAM in total, so it'll be 8x4GB or 16x2GB. There are dual-socket Opteron systems with 16 RAM slots, but if we use all then we have no space to expand in the future. In any case, if buying from system OEM is much more expensive, maybe we should do what you said, buy system with minimum config and populate the rest ourselves later? We can test the RAMs ourselves.

Thanks again.
abinstein
K8 Opteron (SledgeHammer) Moderator
K8 Opteron (SledgeHammer) Moderator
 
Posts: 7176
Joined: Sat Oct 30, 2004 9:49 pm

Re: 4GB DDR2 registered (ECC) modules?

Postby Boundless » Thu Oct 16, 2008 6:31 pm

abinstein: > ... maybe we should ... buy system with minimum
> config and populate the rest ourselves later?
> We can test the RAMs ourselves.


By all means, as long as:
  1. You've pre-eliminated obvious technical risk
    (the config isn't a known problem to the OEM),
  2. You get at least nomimal assurance from the RAM
    supplier that the stuff is likely to work in your box, and;
  3. You know how to stress test RAM (and do so), and
    know how to isolate any later problem to RAM.

OEM installed RAM may be stable, but it's usually not all
that attractive. In the server market, it tends to be mostly
specified but expensive. In the general PC retail market,
it tends to be entirely unspecified, and therefore lowest
cost to OEM, often both low density (high stick count) and slow.
_________
Economy hasn't been the reason to build your own PC since 1993.
Configuration Control is the reason.
User avatar
Boundless
K8 Athlon 64 (Orleans) Expert Boarder
K8 Athlon 64 (Orleans) Expert Boarder
 
Posts: 2001
Joined: Mon Mar 01, 2004 4:40 pm


Return to Memory

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest