Text Size

Memory

Problem running 8gb with vista 64

SDRAM, DDR, DDR II, and more memory types.

Problem running 8gb with vista 64

Postby gd1 » Sat Feb 07, 2009 4:44 pm

Looking for help with memory problem involving 8gb ram and vista 64. Not to tech savvy so take it easy, second computer I have built.

Recently built new computer with ASUS m3a78-em board and AMD 5600 2.9mhz running vista 64 with 4 dimms Corsair XMS Pc 6400 2X2048 for total of 8gb memory Corsair 430 watt ps, nvidia 8600.

Problem: With 8 gb installed memtest86 version 3.4 shows erros in test 7. memtest 86 version 1.7 shows errors in test 6 and 7. All four dimms test fine alone with memtest86.

Computer boots and seems to run fine.

Updated bios to ver. 1401. Manually set mem timings to 55518 at 400mhz, voltage 1.9, this per Corsair tech. Still fails memtest 3.4. Will pass memtest 3.4 with 4gb in slots 1 and 2.

Corsair tech says it is memory controller issue (overworking controller) and to run 8gb at 667mhz.

Issue: Goal of this computer was low cost building to utilize increased memory. How do I get this system stable with 8g at 800mhz? New chip with better memory controller? Any help greatly appreciated.
gd1
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2009 4:13 pm

Re: Problem running 8gb with vista 64

Postby brutis » Sat Feb 07, 2009 10:02 pm

Welcome to the AMDZone!

Try running memtest86+ v2.11 and see if you get the same errors.

I'm running 8GB on Vista 64bit with a BE5000 @ 3.0 It's running the memory at 667MHz with no problems.
Image
Image
User avatar
brutis
K8 Opteron (SledgeHammer) Moderator
K8 Opteron (SledgeHammer) Moderator
 
Posts: 5966
Joined: Sat Mar 06, 2004 2:36 pm
Location: so there I was...

Re: Problem running 8gb with vista 64

Postby gd1 » Sun Feb 08, 2009 5:29 pm

Corsair tech also said to run it at 667 mhz.

Updated bios to 1401. Set manually to 555 18 at 1.9 volt.

Friday night ran 1 set overnight with memtest 3.4 and 2 full passes no errors.

added both sets of 6400c5 2x4096, set mem clock to 400mhz, test 7, 291 errors, showing 161 in slot 0 and 131 in slot 1.

Reset mem clock to 333mhz. Testing both pairs, memtest 3.4 shows test 7 errors of 24, 14 in slot 0 and 10 in slot 1.

Rest mem clock to 400mhz. Loaded HCI memtest along with cpuz and core temp. Testing both pairs, HCI test find memory error and identifies 1 dimm pair as not correctly storing info. Removed 1 set and test first two slots. HCI says no errors. Core temp shows high of 44C and 37C core temp. cpuz shows 2900mhz on processor, mult 14.5, bus 201, ht 1004.9mhz. Memory at 362mhz

Take set two, slots 3 and 4, and place in dell e521. memtest 3.4 shows no errors. hci says no errors.

Place four sticks of corsair 1gb 6400c4 in computer filling all memory slots, mem clock still at 400 mhz and test overnight with memtest 3.4. Two full passes with 0 errors. Testing with hci at this time.

These two pairs of ram work individually but are not compatible? Seems to me if memory controller issue the four 1gb sticks would not work, unless the amount of memory affects the controller. Seems like a big deal to me if there are limitations on memory controllers. Is not the future 64 bit and large amounts of ram. Has the future come to soon?
gd1
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2009 4:13 pm

Re: Problem running 8gb with vista 64

Postby Boundless » Sun Feb 08, 2009 6:18 pm

gd1: >Corsair tech also said to run it at 667 mhz.

If Corsair claims this RAM is supported on the M3A78-EM,
I'd return it and get another brand.

As you probably already know, ASUS lists, for Corsair DDR800,
only "1 GB XMS2-6400 CL4" in the current QVL for the M3A78-EM.

When stable is the goal, it's always worth checking:
- motherboard supported memory list
- memory maker supported MB list
- reseller customer feedback on RAM modules
(NewEgg has lots of complaints about enthusiast RAM
that does not run at advertised timings/clocks,
including various Corsair DDR800.)
___________
Perhaps not useful, but I'm running 4GB (4x1) of Crucial DDR800
trouble-free on an M3A78-T. It is, however CL5 and XP32.
User avatar
Boundless
K8 Athlon 64 (San Diego) Expert Boarder
K8 Athlon 64 (San Diego) Expert Boarder
 
Posts: 1996
Joined: Mon Mar 01, 2004 4:40 pm

Re: Problem running 8gb with vista 64

Postby brutis » Sun Feb 08, 2009 6:25 pm

It could be that your ram doesn't want to play nice with each other. As I said before I've been running 8gb for some time with no issues.

memory.jpg
memory.jpg (85.94 KiB) Viewed 1763 times


This is what I'm using http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820220227

After you get done running your test and if you stick all 8gb back in try bumping the voltage up to 2.0v and see if that help.

edit: after reading Boundless post. As he suggested, RMA the ram and get something else.

edit 2: I was wrong, I''m not running mine at 667, but at 753.
Image
Image
User avatar
brutis
K8 Opteron (SledgeHammer) Moderator
K8 Opteron (SledgeHammer) Moderator
 
Posts: 5966
Joined: Sat Mar 06, 2004 2:36 pm
Location: so there I was...

Re: Problem running 8gb with vista 64

Postby gd1 » Sun Feb 08, 2009 10:37 pm

Being new to this computer building business it never crossed my mind to check a qvl, but I am thinking alot about it right know. I had two computers running 4 gb of 6400c4, one a stock dell e521 so naturally I thought this would work out. I mean the timings are the same. Typing this reply on two of the sticks (to be sure the second set).

Yaa, all i can figure is these two sets do not work together, they were purchased one in December and one in January. I have another coming from new egg in a few days and will again be burning the juice in memtest having another go at the theory. Also will follow up with Corsair. I will continue to post new findings. Thanks for the review.
gd1
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2009 4:13 pm

Re: Problem running 8gb with vista 64

Postby gd1 » Thu Feb 26, 2009 3:31 am

Purchased 4 sticks of gskill 6400-c5 2x2048 (on the QVL) popped it in and it passed 24 hours of memtest 3.4 certifying stability.

Moral of the story as noted above, check QVL for memory and motherboard recommendations. Only 5 complete passes in 24 hours. Takes memtest a long time to get through this much memory.
gd1
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2009 4:13 pm

Re: Problem running 8gb with vista 64

Postby The_Ghost » Fri Feb 27, 2009 12:34 am

gd1 wrote:Moral of the story as noted above, check QVL for memory and motherboard recommendations..

i can agree with this statement 100%

if you want the best service and performance with out guessing or trying to be lucky, go with that the companys spent a large sum of money on testing their equipment, and what works with their equipment best
Image
The_Ghost
K10 Opteron (Barcelona) Administrator
K10 Opteron (Barcelona) Administrator
 
Posts: 25675
Joined: Sun Feb 29, 2004 5:06 pm


Return to Memory

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests