Text Size

Abit

KT7A Whats the fastest CPU it can handle?

KT7A Whats the fastest CPU it can handle?

Postby Amdnewbie » Tue May 11, 2004 4:26 am

I have a couple older Abit KT7A mobo's that I would like to upgrade processor wise. Whats the fastest cpu this mb can handle? I've heard about this Duron 1.6 Applebred that is a nice overclocker and wondering if that might be a candidate. Thanks for the help
DFI LanParty Ultra B
Barton M 2500+ 2500(250X10)
Corsair XMS Twin 3200LLPT (2X512)
ATI Radeon 9800XT
SP-97 / Vantec Tornado 92X92X38
Hitachi 7K250 Sata 160gb
Antec True 550
Lian Li PC65B
Windows XP SP1
Amdnewbie
 
Posts: 53
Joined: Wed Mar 10, 2004 2:51 am

Re: KT7A Whats the fastest CPU it can handle?

Postby Ytsejamer1 » Tue May 11, 2004 12:32 pm

That's a KT133A chipset right? My guess is that it handles Palomino XPs up to 2100+... Most decent KT133A boards will support that line of XPs. However, all bets are off with the lower voltage TBreds, Applebreds, Thortons, Bartons, etc... Update your BIOS to the latest version. See if there is any revision information on Abit's site.
"Violence is the last refuge of the incompetent"
--"Salvor Hardin" (Issac Asimov)
Ytsejamer1
K7 Athlon (Argon) Junior Boarder
K7 Athlon (Argon) Junior Boarder
 
Posts: 371
Joined: Tue Mar 09, 2004 12:42 pm

Re: KT7A Whats the fastest CPU it can handle?

Postby Slipknot3Chris » Fri May 14, 2004 6:14 am

I have a 2100+ tbred OCed to 2.3GHz in my KT7A-RAID v1.1. It is pretty stable but the slow memory is killing me in almost any new game I play. socket 939 seems like it will never come out.
Slipknot3Chris
K5 Fresh Boarder
K5 Fresh Boarder
 
Posts: 146
Joined: Tue Mar 02, 2004 3:30 am

Re: KT7A Whats the fastest CPU it can handle?

Postby Graphic67 » Tue Aug 17, 2004 6:32 pm

Some people (myself included) have had good luck with the 2400+ Thoroughbred. Old thoroughbreds from before the AMD multiplier lock-down of ought-three had to be able to boot at least once at 2 GHz (10x100) due to the way the KT7A dealt with the unknown cpu. The newer locked 2400+ Thoroughbreds will only boot with a 15x multiplier and some people have had problems getting the 133 fsb to work reliably.

My KT7A-raid v1.0 board will reach 133 fsb, but will not handle anything over 136 fsb. If you find yourself limited to 15x100 you will still be far ahead of the performance with a 1.6 Duron.
Abit AT7-Max2 -- Athlon T-bred 'A' 1800+ @ 1830
0.5 GB PC2700 -- ATI Radeon 9700 Pro DDR -- Windows XP Pro SP1

Abit KT7A-Raid -- Athlon XP 2400+ T-bred 2.0 GHz
0.5 GB PC133 -- 3Dfx Voodoo 5500 -- SB Live 5.1
Windows 2000 Pro SP4
Graphic67
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat May 15, 2004 5:07 pm
Location: Raleigh, NC


Return to Abit

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 1 guest