Text Size

Abit

Ethernet issue with ABIT AV8 VIA K8T800 PRO 939 ATX

Ethernet issue with ABIT AV8 VIA K8T800 PRO 939 ATX

Postby KyleL12345 » Thu Nov 11, 2004 9:15 am

I just bought this bundle special on Newegg last night:

AMD Athlon 64 3400+ABIT K8T800 Pro+Kingston 1GB BUNDLE!!!
MB ABIT AV8 VIA K8T800 PRO 939 ATX
CPU AMD 64 |3400+ ATHLON 64 939P%
DDRAM 1GB KIT|DDR400 PC3200 -k RT


I put the thing togther, formatted windows XP and everything is fine (besides the fact that I need a new cd key for Windows xp activation is due in 30 days, that wouldn't prevent me from accessing the internet right?)

Anyway, I plug my ethernet cable into the Onboard LAN: VIA VT6122 Gigabit Ethernet and the orange light near the ethernet lights up. However, Windows XP detects no connection, and it doesn't really recognize my ethernet. IS there a software or driver install I have to do? Why wouldn't the ethernet be detected? Even as I put in the Verizon DSL CD it only gave me the option of running internet of USB and not the Ethernet. Any ideas?
http://www.brotherclan.com

#brother @ irc.gamesurge.net
KyleL12345
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Nov 11, 2004 9:10 am

RE: Ethernet issue with ABIT AV8 VIA K8T800 PRO 939 ATX

Postby The_Ghost » Thu Nov 11, 2004 10:19 am

go into the bios and make sure it is turned on

welcome to the Zone
Image
The_Ghost
K10 Opteron (Barcelona) Administrator
K10 Opteron (Barcelona) Administrator
 
Posts: 25675
Joined: Sun Feb 29, 2004 5:06 pm

Re: Ethernet issue with ABIT AV8 VIA K8T800 PRO 939 ATX

Postby jhaluska » Thu Nov 11, 2004 10:23 am

I just helped set up this board today and had the same problem. Just install the ethernet drivers anyways. After a reboot it will work.
jhaluska
K8 Opteron (SledgeHammer) Moderator
K8 Opteron (SledgeHammer) Moderator
 
Posts: 904
Joined: Tue Mar 02, 2004 1:06 am

Re: Ethernet issue with ABIT AV8 VIA K8T800 PRO 939 ATX

Postby KyleL12345 » Thu Nov 11, 2004 10:48 am

Thanks I'll try these two solutions when I get home from work!!
http://www.brotherclan.com

#brother @ irc.gamesurge.net
KyleL12345
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Nov 11, 2004 9:10 am

Re: Ethernet issue with ABIT AV8 VIA K8T800 PRO 939 ATX

Postby jhaluska » Thu Nov 11, 2004 11:02 am

If you are at work, I recommend getting the latest ethernet drivers off abit's website. The ones I installed off the CD worked, but was incredibly slow (tranfers maxed out at ~15KB/s). Once I installed the new ones, it worked well.
jhaluska
K8 Opteron (SledgeHammer) Moderator
K8 Opteron (SledgeHammer) Moderator
 
Posts: 904
Joined: Tue Mar 02, 2004 1:06 am

Re: Ethernet issue with ABIT AV8 VIA K8T800 PRO 939 ATX

Postby Chris Tom » Thu Nov 11, 2004 11:47 am

you can always pull the drivers from the VIA site too.
Image
Chris Tom
K10 Opteron (Barcelona) Administrator
K10 Opteron (Barcelona) Administrator
 
Posts: 657
Joined: Sun Jan 08, 2006 5:22 pm
Location: Austin, TX

Re: Ethernet issue with ABIT AV8 VIA K8T800 PRO 939 ATX

Postby KyleL12345 » Thu Nov 11, 2004 11:48 am

I just took a look on their website, would this be the driver?

Onboard LAN Chip Driver (Windows XP) Released Date: 2004-11-10
IC Plus IP1000 Family Gigabit Ethernet
Windows XP
v2.9.0.40802

@ this link:

http://www.abit-usa.com/downloads/drive ... &model=218
http://www.brotherclan.com

#brother @ irc.gamesurge.net
KyleL12345
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Nov 11, 2004 9:10 am

Re: Ethernet issue with ABIT AV8 VIA K8T800 PRO 939 ATX

Postby KyleL12345 » Fri Nov 12, 2004 9:23 am

Went home, installed the drivers, got online, updated the drivers .. worked like a charm. Thanks for your help everyone.
http://www.brotherclan.com

#brother @ irc.gamesurge.net
KyleL12345
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Nov 11, 2004 9:10 am


Return to Abit

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest