Text Size

Abit

Abit KW7 SATA issue

Abit KW7 SATA issue

Postby MKS » Thu Dec 16, 2004 9:45 am

I have an Abit KW7 motherboard and I have faced a problem loading
operating system from SATA hard drive connected to the onboard SATA
controller (VIA 8237). BIOS version is fresh (according to ABIT website) - 1.1, build date 10/01/2004. SATA controller is set to IDE mode. SATA
hard drive (Western Digital WD360) does not appear in BIOS setup, so
it's impossible to make it bootable. Windows XP setup program can
recognize the hard drive and is able to copy files to it but still cannot
load itself from it. Help me anyone, please!
MKS
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Aug 07, 2004 10:25 am

RE: Abit KW7 SATA issue

Postby tuckan » Thu Dec 30, 2004 6:24 pm

Did you install the drivers for the SATA when first installing XP? You do this by pressing F6 when you boot to the Xp disk. It will ask you on the bottom of the page if you need to install any Raid drivers. You should have a floppy with the Raid drivers on it. This should have come with the motherboard.
tuckan
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Dec 30, 2004 3:42 pm

RE: Abit KW7 SATA issue

Postby The_Ghost » Thu Dec 30, 2004 7:16 pm

even though this is a asus motherboard ,this might help you resolve your problem

http://www.amdzone.com/index.php?name=P ... e2d5f67e9c
Image
The_Ghost
K10 Opteron (Barcelona) Administrator
K10 Opteron (Barcelona) Administrator
 
Posts: 25675
Joined: Sun Feb 29, 2004 5:06 pm

Re: Abit KW7 SATA issue

Postby jedla01 » Sun Jan 16, 2005 3:54 am

Hi, I have got MSI KT600 Delta with WD 160GB SATA hard drive. My problem is, that I have successfully formated the disk, but when the "files copying" starts, it cannot copy the SATA drivers from the floppy. It writes, that he can't do it, I have to escaped it and then he tranfer all windows files to the hard disk, but windows doesn't starts. Pls help and soory for my english ...
jedla01
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Jan 16, 2005 3:45 am

Re: Abit KW7 SATA issue

Postby The_Ghost » Sun Jan 16, 2005 4:09 am

welcome to the Zone

it sounds like you may be using the wrong drivers ,,did you check to the website to make sure you are using the right drivers ?

please tell us how you are adding the drivers
Image
The_Ghost
K10 Opteron (Barcelona) Administrator
K10 Opteron (Barcelona) Administrator
 
Posts: 25675
Joined: Sun Feb 29, 2004 5:06 pm

Re: Abit KW7 SATA issue

Postby jedla01 » Sun Jan 16, 2005 7:02 am

WinXP+SP2 boot from CD, on start press F6, then it wants the floppy disk with drivers. I insert floppy disk which was with the motherboard. Then is drivers loaded, I choose VIAMRAID for WinXP, it founds the hard disk, I create partition, format and then begin copying files. Then instalation writes up, that he can't load drivers from floppy to hard disk. I must ignore it and the is windows files copied to disk, but windows never starts further. I go now to try newest SATA drivers, but I don't believe in success.
jedla01
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Jan 16, 2005 3:45 am

Re: Abit KW7 SATA issue

Postby The_Ghost » Sun Jan 16, 2005 9:00 am

are you using the via sata ,or the promize sata ?

never mind it looks like that motherboard has only the via sata
Image
The_Ghost
K10 Opteron (Barcelona) Administrator
K10 Opteron (Barcelona) Administrator
 
Posts: 25675
Joined: Sun Feb 29, 2004 5:06 pm

Re: Abit KW7 SATA issue

Postby jedla01 » Sun Jan 16, 2005 1:23 pm

Problem solved! It was bad compilation of WinXP+SP2, I have had to install winXP+SP1.
jedla01
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Jan 16, 2005 3:45 am

Re: Abit KW7 SATA issue

Postby The_Ghost » Sun Jan 16, 2005 1:26 pm

glad you figured it out ,,so how do you like having the sata drive ?

is it fast enough for you ? :)
Image
The_Ghost
K10 Opteron (Barcelona) Administrator
K10 Opteron (Barcelona) Administrator
 
Posts: 25675
Joined: Sun Feb 29, 2004 5:06 pm


Return to Abit

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest