Text Size

Abit

Abit kv8-pro post problem

Abit kv8-pro post problem

Postby hpc » Mon Dec 20, 2004 5:11 pm

Hello,

i recently bought a Abit motherboard type KV8-pro
i installed it in a tybotech case from the type : Darkline 8001 C45 (http:://www.tybotech.com)


the pc configuration :

AMD athlon 64 3000+
HDD Seagate 120 Gb - 7200 -2mb
Twinmoss 512 mb DDR pc3200 - 400Mhz
benq DVD-writer
VGA Abit AGP R9550 128mb 128bit

the problem is rather weird

sometimes the pc does a normal bootup and sometimes it doesn't
the post code goes to 99 immediatly and i can here the HD starting up, the cpu-fan works, but nothing
happens..
i have tried different memory , different vga-cards, different HD, but the problem remains....


what can cause this problem....

with kind regards

jurrie Hinderyckx
hpc
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2004 5:08 pm

RE: Abit kv8-pro post problem

Postby The_Ghost » Mon Dec 20, 2004 5:22 pm

welcome to the Zone

what power supply are you using ?
Image
The_Ghost
K10 Opteron (Barcelona) Administrator
K10 Opteron (Barcelona) Administrator
 
Posts: 25675
Joined: Sun Feb 29, 2004 5:06 pm

Re: Abit kv8-pro post problem

Postby hpc » Mon Dec 20, 2004 5:31 pm

the psu came with the case and presumably it's a tybotech 400watt psu

the weird thing is that the pc works for days sometimes without trouble and then it freezes all of the sudden and even rebooting is impossible,
then i open the case , push the vga-card, the mem and the cpufan, and then it starts up again

in the cases that it doesn't boot up : the post goes to "99" and that's it

another thing i noticed is that it mostly freezes when doing heave stuff, like playing CD's.

when installing software it never happens


it's just weird to me
hpc
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2004 5:08 pm

Re: Abit kv8-pro post problem

Postby The_Ghost » Mon Dec 20, 2004 7:47 pm

ok it sounds like your memory or video card for some reason is not set all the way in the slots . try removing and putting them back in several times ,yiou may have some dust or something causing the problem

what is the amps on your power supply ? is your hard drive set for a single drive or as master ?

try running memtest86 on your memory for at least 10 cycles
Image
The_Ghost
K10 Opteron (Barcelona) Administrator
K10 Opteron (Barcelona) Administrator
 
Posts: 25675
Joined: Sun Feb 29, 2004 5:06 pm

Re: Abit kv8-pro post problem

Postby hpc » Tue Dec 21, 2004 10:42 am

i have found out that the problem is definatly the mobo :
some other errors that occur :

- floppydrive doesn't work ( both floppy and cable work in another computer )
- the computer freezes at random post codes : 26 , 04, 9.0. , f.0. , etc.
- mediadevices not recognized (DVD, DVD-rw)
- the cpufan-holder is of poor quality wich means that the fan isn't firmy locked onto the cpu, i can move it in all 4 directions.

i'm gonna get it RMA'ed i think
hpc
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2004 5:08 pm


Return to Abit

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron