Text Size

Asus

Asus M2N32-SLI Deluxe Owners

Asus M2N32-SLI Deluxe Owners

Postby Shadow99 » Wed Dec 05, 2007 10:17 pm

I'm just curious if there are any Asus M2N32-SLI Deluxe owners out there... I have the Wifi Edition of the board myself now, so I'm curious what others think of it... ^_^
Avatar by http://www.fredart.com/.
New System:
Thermaltake Armor Series VA8003BWS Black Full Tower Case w/ 25CM Fan, SeaSonic M12 SS-700HM 700W PSU, ASUS M2N32-SLI Deluxe Wireless Edition AM2 NVIDIA nForce 590 SLI motherboard, AMD Athlon 64 X2 6400+ Windsor 3.2GHz Socket AM2 Processor Model ADX6400CZWOF, ZALMAN CNPS9700 LED 110mm CPU Cooler (& Artic Silver 5!), G.SKILL 2GB (2 x 1GB ) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (with 4-4-3-5 timings), SAPPHIRE 100215L Radeon HD 3870 Video Card, Western Digital Caviar SE16 WD7500AAKS 750GB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive, LITE-ON 20X DVD±R DVD Burner SATA Model LH-20A1S
Shadow99
K6-III Fresh Boarder
K6-III Fresh Boarder
 
Posts: 289
Joined: Wed Mar 03, 2004 5:58 pm

Re: Asus M2N32-SLI Deluxe Owners

Postby retherfordaehs » Thu Aug 28, 2008 10:16 pm

Wow. Can't believe I didn't catch this post thread before.

I'm loving my board. Plan on keeping this setup until socket AM3. But I'll probably buy the AM3 proc first, use it in this board, then get the new mobo, RAM, and video card(s) shortly there after.

As I'm nearly a year late, any update from you? What do you think of the board after nearly a year with it?
retherfordaehs
K8 Athlon 64 X2 (Toledo) Elite Boarder
K8 Athlon 64 X2 (Toledo) Elite Boarder
 
Posts: 3034
Joined: Fri Mar 12, 2004 5:57 pm

Re: Asus M2N32-SLI Deluxe Owners

Postby The_Ghost » Fri Aug 29, 2008 2:10 pm

retherfordaehs wrote:As I'm nearly a year late, any update from you?

that is what happens when you vanish, glad to see you back
Image
The_Ghost
K10 Opteron (Barcelona) Administrator
K10 Opteron (Barcelona) Administrator
 
Posts: 25675
Joined: Sun Feb 29, 2004 5:06 pm

Re: Asus M2N32-SLI Deluxe Owners

Postby retherfordaehs » Sat Aug 30, 2008 2:58 am

The_Ghost wrote:that is what happens when you vanish, glad to see you back

Hey, thanks Ghost! Just been incredibly busy. But, hopefully, I'll be able to be a bit more frequent around here. I'm incredibly interested in anything AM3 related, and this is the best place to come for new info on such. :D
retherfordaehs
K8 Athlon 64 X2 (Toledo) Elite Boarder
K8 Athlon 64 X2 (Toledo) Elite Boarder
 
Posts: 3034
Joined: Fri Mar 12, 2004 5:57 pm

Re: Asus M2N32-SLI Deluxe Owners

Postby maduroutmb » Thu Oct 23, 2008 6:16 am

I love mine. I am still working on getting it set up as a wireless base station, though that's a bit harder in linux.
Phenom 9950 BE @2.52 GHz/1.2125V (Nirvana NV120), 790GX, 8 GB DDR2-800 @4-4-4-12/2.2V, 2*4850 1GB @0.625 GHz
Fedora 14 KDE 64/Windows 7 64
User avatar
maduroutmb
K7 Athlon (Argon) Junior Boarder
K7 Athlon (Argon) Junior Boarder
 
Posts: 361
Joined: Mon May 05, 2008 3:03 am
Location: Galveston, TX

Re: Asus M2N32-SLI Deluxe Owners

Postby retherfordaehs » Thu Oct 23, 2008 4:43 pm

maduroutmb wrote:I love mine. I am still working on getting it set up as a wireless base station, though that's a bit harder in linux.

lol- my Intel build is running just Ubuntu. I'm a bit of a newb with Linux so I figured I'd start out with a simple distro. :lol: I've used it quite a bit now, and, for the most part, it reminds me of WIndows 3.1 on steroids. :D I imagine is MS hadn't ditched DOS and 3.1 Windows would be much more like Ubuntu... with excellent gaming support being the only major difference.
retherfordaehs
K8 Athlon 64 X2 (Toledo) Elite Boarder
K8 Athlon 64 X2 (Toledo) Elite Boarder
 
Posts: 3034
Joined: Fri Mar 12, 2004 5:57 pm

Re: Asus M2N32-SLI Deluxe Owners

Postby maduroutmb » Sat Oct 25, 2008 6:09 am

I have a 70GB partition with Vista Home Premium 32 bit that I use for gaming (COD4 and Medieval 2 Total War). I think that's pretty common for linux users. Still, I only use that partition for gaming. I find that Ubuntu is easier to work with, faster, and, with Compiz running, prettier. The programs that I depend on (Blender, Open Office, GIMP, Firefox, Thunderbird, Exaile, BOINC, Transmission, and Totem) all work as well in Ubuntu as they do in Windows.
Phenom 9950 BE @2.52 GHz/1.2125V (Nirvana NV120), 790GX, 8 GB DDR2-800 @4-4-4-12/2.2V, 2*4850 1GB @0.625 GHz
Fedora 14 KDE 64/Windows 7 64
User avatar
maduroutmb
K7 Athlon (Argon) Junior Boarder
K7 Athlon (Argon) Junior Boarder
 
Posts: 361
Joined: Mon May 05, 2008 3:03 am
Location: Galveston, TX

Re: Asus M2N32-SLI Deluxe Owners

Postby retherfordaehs » Tue Nov 18, 2008 12:44 am

Well, I've encountered some "difficulties" with my Intel box... the HDD is an old 40GB IDE one. On the Primary IDE channel I have two drives, the "master" is the HDD (jumpers set accordingly, using appropriate connector on ribbon cable) and the "slave" is the optical drive (jumper set accordingly, using appropriate connector on ribbon cable).

What happens is, when the system powers on it completes POST just fine, but at the point where it is going to load an OS it immediately restarts and goes through POST again, and just repeats this cycle. If I just walk away and let it cycle, eventually it'll boot from the hard drive (which is what I have it set to do from the BIOS), but it takes like 30-45 minutes or so (I've never actually timed it) of just letting it loop.

I'm not too worried about it though, as I haven't had time to use the box as I've wanted to anyways. And I also planned from the get go on purchasing a new SATAII samsung HDD and Optical drives for the rig. I'm quite positive that'll resolve the issue, though I've not been able to test it with an actual SATA HDD and Optical drive installed. :(

Anyhow, as to my Phenom rig- still love it! And I've never attempted any OCing of any component in this rig yet, haven't had the need to. ;)
retherfordaehs
K8 Athlon 64 X2 (Toledo) Elite Boarder
K8 Athlon 64 X2 (Toledo) Elite Boarder
 
Posts: 3034
Joined: Fri Mar 12, 2004 5:57 pm

Re: Asus M2N32-SLI Deluxe Owners

Postby AussieFX » Tue Nov 18, 2008 2:20 pm

Does the board have a second IDE channel you could try? Even try another IDE cable before you ditch the HDD.

It sounds like the drive is on the way out, but it's worth a try.

Lucky you have linux on that drive and not Vista, with 40gb M$ will leave you 100mb to play with. :P
Sent from my flippy phone thingy using TAPATALK HD_2016.1


Image
Nikon D7000 / Nikon D5000
User avatar
AussieFX
K8 Opteron (SledgeHammer) Moderator
K8 Opteron (SledgeHammer) Moderator
 
Posts: 7668
Joined: Fri May 11, 2007 1:50 pm
Location: I wish I knew...

Re: Asus M2N32-SLI Deluxe Owners

Postby retherfordaehs » Tue Nov 18, 2008 8:54 pm

No, the board doe not have a secondary IDE channel. :(

Well, I was using a 300GB Maxtor (IDE as well), but I knew that drive had issues. So my buddy had this 40GB he had just replaced with a 120GB drive, and he swore this drive worked. Anyhow, we'll see if the SATA drives resolve the issue, I really had no intention of using IDE to begin with. :p I just used these drives as they were all I had at the time and I just wanted to get the rig up and running.
retherfordaehs
K8 Athlon 64 X2 (Toledo) Elite Boarder
K8 Athlon 64 X2 (Toledo) Elite Boarder
 
Posts: 3034
Joined: Fri Mar 12, 2004 5:57 pm


Return to Asus

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron