Text Size

Asus

M3A

M3A

Postby bgt » Sun Jan 20, 2008 7:41 am

very happy with it, makes the pc quit fast in comparison with the M2A-VM HDMI. Don't know why but it does:-)

Asrock Z87M-Extreme4(C2)/i7-4770K/8Gb1600/SSD(120Gb840EVO+ 960GbM500)/IGP/VTX3D7950X-Edition
Asrock 970Extreme3(rev2)/FX8350/8Gb1600/SSD840EVO/HDD2Tb/AMD7730
OS=Win8.1 X64 PRO(UEFI mode)

Image
User avatar
bgt
K7 Athlon XP (Palomino) Junior Boarder
K7 Athlon XP (Palomino) Junior Boarder
 
Posts: 491
Joined: Sat Mar 06, 2004 9:34 am
Location: Netherlands

Re:M3A

Postby brutis » Sun Jan 20, 2008 8:13 am

Good, have you tried to OC it yet?

Also, did you ever hear back from ASUS about your M2A-VM HDMI BIOS having the TLB patch in it or not?
Image
Image
User avatar
brutis
K8 Opteron (SledgeHammer) Moderator
K8 Opteron (SledgeHammer) Moderator
 
Posts: 6018
Joined: Sat Mar 06, 2004 2:36 pm
Location: so there I was...

Re:M3A

Postby bgt » Mon Jan 21, 2008 4:32 am

Brutis, no I did not overclock it. It is fast enough, feels much more snappy than my 5000. The mobo gets also a bit hotter. The SB chip, next to the CPU, gets quite hot. Maybe the 1800mhz HT lines are causing this. In ´speedfan` , 434beta37, you´ll notice a very fast temp. rise if you do heavy calculating sw like winrar etc. Not a problem but very differerent from the M2A VM board. Got a mail from Asus BTW that the TLB patch is enabled in bios on the M2A VM board.
Good service from Asus. And the mobo feels fast. If the 9550 gets to the dealers I will buy them immediately. The way AMD design their cpu´s is just fantastic. A true quad core is the way to go;) and I feel they only get better over time.

Asrock Z87M-Extreme4(C2)/i7-4770K/8Gb1600/SSD(120Gb840EVO+ 960GbM500)/IGP/VTX3D7950X-Edition
Asrock 970Extreme3(rev2)/FX8350/8Gb1600/SSD840EVO/HDD2Tb/AMD7730
OS=Win8.1 X64 PRO(UEFI mode)

Image
User avatar
bgt
K7 Athlon XP (Palomino) Junior Boarder
K7 Athlon XP (Palomino) Junior Boarder
 
Posts: 491
Joined: Sat Mar 06, 2004 9:34 am
Location: Netherlands

Re:M3A

Postby brutis » Mon Jan 21, 2008 5:09 am

Glad your happy with it :)

You know bgt, when I first got my Phenom in I was unhappy with it, heck if it wasn't for me buying it over the holidays from newegg I would have sent it back. But I missed the 7 day return time so I kept it. And I'm glad I did, it's the best CPU I have folding now and it's at 2.55GHz to boot :woohoo: Now I want another one!

TLB bug, it hasn't bothered me, I just wish that they left a switch in the BIOS to turn the patch off/on. When I tested my TA560 it took an 8% hit in performance with the patch. So hopefully they will issue new BIOS without the patch when the improved Phenoms come out.

If you do try to OC come back and let us know how it goes.
Image
Image
User avatar
brutis
K8 Opteron (SledgeHammer) Moderator
K8 Opteron (SledgeHammer) Moderator
 
Posts: 6018
Joined: Sat Mar 06, 2004 2:36 pm
Location: so there I was...

Re:M3A

Postby bgt » Mon Jan 21, 2008 5:49 am

Brutis, yes pity they do not have a TLB switch. Asked Asus for 1. They won't answer that 1 I think. CPU is hoovering between 45 and 60C all the time. Depending of what you're doing ofcourse. Hear the fan sometimes coming up in revs very quickly and then dying out again whem temp falls. Temp 1 in Speedfan acts very dynamical. Am using a Freezer64Pro fan. Huge thing but cools very well. On the M2A-VM it stayed a lot cooler. It never reached 55C on that board.

Asrock Z87M-Extreme4(C2)/i7-4770K/8Gb1600/SSD(120Gb840EVO+ 960GbM500)/IGP/VTX3D7950X-Edition
Asrock 970Extreme3(rev2)/FX8350/8Gb1600/SSD840EVO/HDD2Tb/AMD7730
OS=Win8.1 X64 PRO(UEFI mode)

Image
User avatar
bgt
K7 Athlon XP (Palomino) Junior Boarder
K7 Athlon XP (Palomino) Junior Boarder
 
Posts: 491
Joined: Sat Mar 06, 2004 9:34 am
Location: Netherlands

Re:M3A

Postby brutis » Mon Jan 21, 2008 6:12 am

Did the fan stay at a constant speed on the M2A, or is there some sort of "Smart Fan" feature in the BIOS that could be adjusting the fan speed automatically?

What is the temp at idle? My Phenom idles at around 24C with the FSB set at 230 and vcore at 1.45v. Under load running 4 treads of Prime95 it's 45C. But thats with a big o'l honkin Cooler Master GeminII with two 120mm fans.
Image
Image
User avatar
brutis
K8 Opteron (SledgeHammer) Moderator
K8 Opteron (SledgeHammer) Moderator
 
Posts: 6018
Joined: Sat Mar 06, 2004 2:36 pm
Location: so there I was...

Re: M3A

Postby zeno » Mon Dec 15, 2008 2:23 am

I have a M3A-H/hdmi mobo and was doing some temp readings on it tonight. I just don't trust the numbers that the sensors package gives in linux... just seem too low sometimes (55F on the cores idling? I guess but it's 70F ambient.) I have F@H going on both cores at 100% when I took this picture (laser pointed at 780chipset heatsink,) seems a little hot but

http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3005/3108442823_eae326f828_b.jpg
Image

I stuck an old fan on it after taking that.. no speed control, full blast.
Last edited by zeno on Mon Dec 15, 2008 4:21 am, edited 1 time in total.
zeno
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Sun Nov 16, 2008 3:58 am

Re: M3A

Postby Karamiekos » Mon Dec 15, 2008 3:22 am

101F is only 38C, which isn't bad at all. I wouldn't worry about a temp like that, but then again...cooler is pretty much always better in the long run anyhow.
"The richest person, is the one who needs the least." -Unknown
"Remember barrels." -George Washington
"Then you start firing back some cocktails." -Zakk Wylde
User avatar
Karamiekos
K8 Athlon 64 (Clawhammer) Senior Boarder
K8 Athlon 64 (Clawhammer) Senior Boarder
 
Posts: 1204
Joined: Wed Jan 09, 2008 12:44 pm


Return to Asus

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest