Text Size

Asus

Asus m2a-VM board with new Athlon x2 4850e

Asus m2a-VM board with new Athlon x2 4850e

Postby godan » Sat Dec 06, 2008 3:55 pm

Anyone have this setup working? I just bought it and had to RMA it to Newegg because I couldn't get a post. Replacement parts are on the way. What I need to know is if anyone has the cpu working on this board and if they had to do anything to get it working like flash the bios etc....Thanks.
godan
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Dec 06, 2008 3:51 pm

Re: Asus m2a-VM board with new Athlon x2 4850e

Postby Boundless » Sat Dec 06, 2008 10:31 pm

godan: > I just bought it ...

Why that particular board?

> ...and had to RMA it to Newegg because I couldn't get a post.

According to the bilge end of the customer comments,
DOAs are distressingly common with that board.

> ...if they had to do anything to get it working like flash the bios etc.

I see reports of BIOS updates killing the board, too.
________
Wasn't an "open box" to start with, was it?
User avatar
Boundless
K8 Athlon 64 (Orleans) Expert Boarder
K8 Athlon 64 (Orleans) Expert Boarder
 
Posts: 2001
Joined: Mon Mar 01, 2004 4:40 pm

Re: Asus m2a-VM board with new Athlon x2 4850e

Postby godan » Sun Dec 07, 2008 3:36 pm

Boundless...My son who is 19 just bought this setup. It is his first build and he needed to spend as little as possible but still get something "newer". Newegg had a combo for this board and the cpu for $98.00. And no it wasn't an open box. So the primary reason is financial. He bought the CPU, Board, and 4 gigs of RAM. We couldn't figure out what was wrong because I don't have any other systems that will accept those parts...so, we sent back all the components. Really not sure what was defective. Believe me I went through everything I could figure out to test even plugging in the minimal connections on the board setting on cardboard out of the case and it wouldn't power up. At the time we bought it a google search didn't come up with a lot of RMA problems. Since then I have read some issues but not really that many more problems than most other boards.
godan
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Dec 06, 2008 3:51 pm

Re: Asus m2a-VM board with new Athlon x2 4850e

Postby brutis » Sun Dec 07, 2008 4:51 pm

What PSU are you using and was the 4-pin CPU power connector plugged in?
Image
Image
User avatar
brutis
K8 Opteron (SledgeHammer) Moderator
K8 Opteron (SledgeHammer) Moderator
 
Posts: 6019
Joined: Sat Mar 06, 2004 2:36 pm
Location: so there I was...

Re: Asus m2a-VM board with new Athlon x2 4850e

Postby godan » Sun Dec 07, 2008 4:57 pm

Brutis, I was using Thermaltake 500watt and the 4 pin was connected. I even tried another PSU antec neopower 480 watt. Couldn't get a post with either of them. The cpu fan made a slight attempt to start up but then wouldn't spin. Also I didn't get any beeps from the motherboard. I have build numerous systems from scratch since 1998. This is the only one that I couldn't get up and running.
godan
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Dec 06, 2008 3:51 pm

Re: Asus m2a-VM board with new Athlon x2 4850e

Postby brutis » Sun Dec 07, 2008 5:02 pm

Had to ask :wink:

RMA looks like the right thing than.

and Welcome to the Zone!
Image
Image
User avatar
brutis
K8 Opteron (SledgeHammer) Moderator
K8 Opteron (SledgeHammer) Moderator
 
Posts: 6019
Joined: Sat Mar 06, 2004 2:36 pm
Location: so there I was...

Re: Asus m2a-VM board with new Athlon x2 4850e

Postby zeno » Wed Dec 10, 2008 7:45 am

Hah. I just ordered the same bundle off of Newegg.. The board and the CPU are here and put together but I have to wait until tomorrow for the heatsink/fan/psu to be delivered.

Image

This is for my windows XP machine in the other room that i'm replacing. Couple of weeks ago I bought two sticks of pc2700 kingston ram for it.... so I called Newegg and asked if I could return the memory since I was buying all new parts and memory. The guy on the phone was like, "oh sure... I'll credit your account $41, no need to send it back and you have a merry christmas." I kept the memory and my paypal account was just credited today :)
zeno
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Sun Nov 16, 2008 3:58 am

Re: Asus m2a-VM board with new Athlon x2 4850e

Postby zeno » Thu Dec 11, 2008 5:31 am

Up and running now. Installed windows xp and ubuntu on a fresh 250gB seagate drive. The audio driver installation in windows was a bit stupid but it worked out. And also, in Ubuntu (8.10) the frequency manager application kept the cpu running at 1000mhz and wouldn't change it.. so I removed it and now it's running at 2.5ghz, as it should. (cool & quiet is enabled in the bios.)

model name : AMD Athlon(tm) Dual Core Processor 4850e
stepping : 2
cpu MHz : 2500.000
cache size : 512 KB

Audio, video, sata, all working well. Sorry to hear about your RMA :(
zeno
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Sun Nov 16, 2008 3:58 am

Re: Asus m2a-VM board with new Athlon x2 4850e

Postby godan » Mon Dec 22, 2008 2:53 pm

Update...We received all the replaced parts and have the system up and running. Everything went smooth this time with no glitches. My son is experimenting with overclocking (cautioned him to do the research and be careful) he has the CPU at 2.75 ghz and very stable. He is now happy.........
godan
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Dec 06, 2008 3:51 pm

Re: Asus m2a-VM board with new Athlon x2 4850e

Postby brutis » Mon Dec 22, 2008 3:13 pm

Image

If he has any questions send him our way, we'll be glad to help.
Image
Image
User avatar
brutis
K8 Opteron (SledgeHammer) Moderator
K8 Opteron (SledgeHammer) Moderator
 
Posts: 6019
Joined: Sat Mar 06, 2004 2:36 pm
Location: so there I was...


Return to Asus

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest