Text Size

Asus

Asus K7M Slot A error / lockup?

Asus K7M Slot A error / lockup?

Postby spinnaker » Sat Oct 17, 2009 2:00 am

I am trying to revive an old K7M Slot A Mobo. It has an AMD 500 MHZ Athlon.

The PC is running Windows XP.

All is running fine with two exceptions.

1. There is a High / Low sound error coming from the speaker.

2. If I try entering Hardware Monitor in the Mobo setup the PC locks up.


I tried going to ASUS website and downloading the BIOS. There does not seem to be a download for XP.

I tried both DOS and Other but when I start the flash utility, I get:

The chipset isn't supported. Add in a proper module or assign one.

Can anyone help with this ancient mobo?
spinnaker
 
Posts: 68
Joined: Wed Jul 27, 2005 2:34 am

Re: Asus K7M Slot A error / lockup?

Postby brutis » Sat Oct 17, 2009 2:24 am

Make sure your getting the right BIOS 1013.002 for your MB and only flash in DOS, so any of the "OS's" BIOS should work.

Try using the force switch ===> /f
Image
Image
User avatar
brutis
K8 Opteron (SledgeHammer) Moderator
K8 Opteron (SledgeHammer) Moderator
 
Posts: 5966
Joined: Sat Mar 06, 2004 2:36 pm
Location: so there I was...

Re: Asus K7M Slot A error / lockup?

Postby spinnaker » Sat Oct 17, 2009 2:40 am

brutis wrote:Make sure your getting the right BIOS 1013.002 for your MB and only flash in DOS, so any of the "OS's" BIOS should work.

Try using the force switch ===> /f


Thanks brutis

I assume you mean I should boot up in DOS?

How do I find 1013.002?

I am wondering if this is worth it. The PC my not be working as well as I expected. It already rebooted a couple of times on it's own.
spinnaker
 
Posts: 68
Joined: Wed Jul 27, 2005 2:34 am

Re: Asus K7M Slot A error / lockup?

Postby spinnaker » Sat Oct 17, 2009 2:46 am

I found something on the Asus website tagged 1013.002 but it says P4B Beta Bios.
spinnaker
 
Posts: 68
Joined: Wed Jul 27, 2005 2:34 am

Re: Asus K7M Slot A error / lockup?

Postby brutis » Sat Oct 17, 2009 2:53 am

1013.002 is the BIOS name. You can DL it from http://support.asus.com/download/download.aspx

Yes, you want to boot into DOS and run the flash program.

I have an old SOYO K7A1A Athlon 600 that I haven't ran in years, it was the very first PC i built. I my have to fire it up again and see if it still works :wink:

edit: this is what it shows for me K7M Beta BIOS 1013.002
Image
Image
User avatar
brutis
K8 Opteron (SledgeHammer) Moderator
K8 Opteron (SledgeHammer) Moderator
 
Posts: 5966
Joined: Sat Mar 06, 2004 2:36 pm
Location: so there I was...

Re: Asus K7M Slot A error / lockup?

Postby skrubol » Wed Oct 21, 2009 9:07 pm

How are you able to get past the error coming from the speaker. I seem to remember getting a tone that you describe, but I don't remember ever being able to get past it.
I would also try unplugging everything that isn't required to boot: all USB devices, all drives other than the hard drive, all pci cards except video. If that fails, disconnect the hard drive as well, and then try reseating all components that are required to boot (RAM, CPU.)
skrubol
K8 Athlon 64 X2 (Manchester) Elite Boarder
K8 Athlon 64 X2 (Manchester) Elite Boarder
 
Posts: 2815
Joined: Tue Mar 09, 2004 10:20 pm


Return to Asus

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron