Text Size

Asus

USB high voltage error message

USB high voltage error message

Postby wyrmrider » Sat May 22, 2010 9:41 pm

Asus A8V Delux
getting a post error message USB voltage is high
shutting down in 15 seconds
anyone know of a work around
removed usb periphals and removed jumpers
unable to get into bios to disable usb
thanks
wyrmrider
K8 Athlon 64 (San Diego) Expert Boarder
K8 Athlon 64 (San Diego) Expert Boarder
 
Posts: 1792
Joined: Sat Mar 20, 2004 4:09 pm

Re: USB high voltage error message

Postby brutis » Sat May 22, 2010 9:47 pm

Have you tried to reset the CMOS?
Image
Image
User avatar
brutis
K8 Opteron (SledgeHammer) Moderator
K8 Opteron (SledgeHammer) Moderator
 
Posts: 6015
Joined: Sat Mar 06, 2004 2:36 pm
Location: so there I was...

Re: USB high voltage error message

Postby wyrmrider » Sat May 22, 2010 11:17 pm

not yet
I let the A8V delux cool off till now and got into CMOS and turned off both USB controlers
f10 and reboot
booted into windows
No idea where a voltage monitoring function is for USB
avast updated and I'm typing away with no crash so far
I'll install a handy PCI USB card after I shutdown
The A8V fills this Antec case while the other case has lots more room for these old finger
also the Gforce 6800 AGP is noiser than the PCIE card in the other case
This computer is noiser than the other case even though the other case as two fans in and two out
must be the AVG Video card
wyrmrider
K8 Athlon 64 (San Diego) Expert Boarder
K8 Athlon 64 (San Diego) Expert Boarder
 
Posts: 1792
Joined: Sat Mar 20, 2004 4:09 pm

Re: USB high voltage error message

Postby skrubol » Sun May 23, 2010 1:11 am

Never heard of this, issue. Have you tried disconnecting any wall powered USB devices? Might be something is backfeeding voltage into USB ports. If that's the case, the offending device is defective/broken.
If not, USB power management is pretty complicated these days I think. I thought older boards just fed the USB from the 5v rail, maybe through some hardware to monitor current. Do you have anything to read your power supply voltages? What's your +5v line read?
skrubol
K8 Athlon 64 X2 (Manchester) Elite Boarder
K8 Athlon 64 X2 (Manchester) Elite Boarder
 
Posts: 2815
Joined: Tue Mar 09, 2004 10:20 pm

Re: USB high voltage error message

Postby wyrmrider » Mon May 24, 2010 3:30 am

thanks for the post
I transfered to a Asus Gforce based board A8n-e
the Via board ran for several hours and then died and contines to give the error message even with all USB turned off in bios and all usb unplugged
I am going to swap power supplies and give it another shot but the bios readings were all under voltages by a small amount.

Any idea how to control chipset fan speed on the A8ne?

also with the tower cooler the 120 mm fan is only going 108 rpm so the warning (below 800 rpm lowest setting) comes up at boot
wyrmrider
K8 Athlon 64 (San Diego) Expert Boarder
K8 Athlon 64 (San Diego) Expert Boarder
 
Posts: 1792
Joined: Sat Mar 20, 2004 4:09 pm

Re: USB high voltage error message

Postby wyrmrider » Mon May 24, 2010 4:31 pm

evidently the chipset and case fan controls have a "hardware problem" on the A8N-e
most likely they forgot something cause the monitoring works
not a problem of the control chip but others report that speedfan etc do not affect these fans
wyrmrider
K8 Athlon 64 (San Diego) Expert Boarder
K8 Athlon 64 (San Diego) Expert Boarder
 
Posts: 1792
Joined: Sat Mar 20, 2004 4:09 pm

Re: USB high voltage error message

Postby Am486DX100 » Tue May 25, 2010 3:51 pm

wyrmrider wrote:Asus A8V Delux
getting a post error message USB voltage is high
shutting down in 15 seconds
anyone know of a work around
removed usb periphals and removed jumpers
unable to get into bios to disable usb
thanks



I'm glad you didn't plug in an ipad into that USB port. That could make one blush. :oops:

Let us know what happens.....
User avatar
Am486DX100
K8 Athlon 64 (Venice) Expert Boarder
K8 Athlon 64 (Venice) Expert Boarder
 
Posts: 1675
Joined: Fri May 26, 2006 7:17 pm
Location: Ahhhh..... I'm @rting around!!!

Re: USB high voltage error message

Postby wyrmrider » Tue May 25, 2010 4:43 pm

Thanks for posting
Latest is the Opteron 170 and 4gb of gskill are moved to an Asus K8n-E (nivida chipset with 7600GT PCI-e)
on the A8V delux i'm puting the 3200 back in and going to swap power supplies
on the A8v i was getting the error message with no usb periphials and with all USB disabled in bios
other forums report shorted usb ports or shorted case to motherboard can cause this as well as power supply (currently enermax- I have PC Poser and cooling and Antec 350 sitting around to try)
I do not see any problems with the ports and I disconected the internal usb headers
also am going to try clearing c-mos- which may be the only way to maybe get into bios - the one time I got in ws jsut lucky

The Nvidia motherboard does not control case fans or chipset and is much noiser than the Via Chipset board
Also the GT7600 doesw not sem to be working on speed control- the lates twindows 7 was uspposed to ahve fixed this driver problem but not here
cool and quiet is working onthe CPU
I'm about to put in a PCI video card and check that for noise (matrox mellinium or some such)
wyrmrider
K8 Athlon 64 (San Diego) Expert Boarder
K8 Athlon 64 (San Diego) Expert Boarder
 
Posts: 1792
Joined: Sat Mar 20, 2004 4:09 pm


Return to Asus

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest