Text Size

Epox

Epox used crappy capacitors on the 8RDA+!!!

Epox used crappy capacitors on the 8RDA+!!!

Postby GottaLoveAMD » Thu Aug 11, 2005 6:22 am

Here is a picture of a revision 1.1 board. All of the capacitors I've circled are either leaking and/or bulging and the board has stability and booting problems. If you're having problems with an 8RDA+, I reccomend checking your caps. Anyway, enjoy (or not really):

Image
GottaLoveAMD
K8 Athlon 64 X2 (Windsor) Elite Boarder
K8 Athlon 64 X2 (Windsor) Elite Boarder
 
Posts: 3985
Joined: Tue Mar 02, 2004 2:23 am
Location: Chicago

RE: Epox used crappy capacitors on the 8RDA+!!!

Postby brutis » Thu Aug 11, 2005 12:36 pm

Aw yes the old crapy cappy :evil:

RMA the little bugger back to Epox, I did with my 8K7A last year or early this year and got a 8K7A+ back.
It was a good year out of warranty witch they stiil honored( just a good thing you can print an old invoice from NewEgg)

Was that the board from your sisters PC that you referred to in another thred?

OTH
Image
Image
User avatar
brutis
K8 Opteron (SledgeHammer) Moderator
K8 Opteron (SledgeHammer) Moderator
 
Posts: 6006
Joined: Sat Mar 06, 2004 2:36 pm
Location: so there I was...

RE: Epox used crappy capacitors on the 8RDA+!!!

Postby GottaLoveAMD » Thu Aug 11, 2005 2:44 pm

Yes, this was from my sister's computer.
GottaLoveAMD
K8 Athlon 64 X2 (Windsor) Elite Boarder
K8 Athlon 64 X2 (Windsor) Elite Boarder
 
Posts: 3985
Joined: Tue Mar 02, 2004 2:23 am
Location: Chicago

RE: Epox used crappy capacitors on the 8RDA+!!!

Postby bigdroo » Thu Aug 11, 2005 3:24 pm

Grrr... :evil:

Epox is on THE LIST now. Leadtek, Albatron, ECS, and now EPOX.
Main/HTPC: 880G Extreme3, 960T -> X6 3.4GHz, 4x4GB, HD6950, 250GB Samsung 840 EVO, Vizio 60" LED 1080p, Win7x64 Ult & Ubuntu Saucy
"Kill all my demons, and my angels might die too..." -T. Williams
[AMDz] DrooIT
User avatar
bigdroo
K8 Athlon 64 X2 (Toledo) Elite Boarder
K8 Athlon 64 X2 (Toledo) Elite Boarder
 
Posts: 3007
Joined: Tue Mar 09, 2004 12:51 pm
Location: Hampton, VA USA

RE: Epox used crappy capacitors on the 8RDA+!!!

Postby GottaLoveAMD » Thu Aug 11, 2005 3:32 pm

Bigdroo, you should check that 8RDA+ you have at work.
GottaLoveAMD
K8 Athlon 64 X2 (Windsor) Elite Boarder
K8 Athlon 64 X2 (Windsor) Elite Boarder
 
Posts: 3985
Joined: Tue Mar 02, 2004 2:23 am
Location: Chicago

RE: Epox used crappy capacitors on the 8RDA+!!!

Postby GottaLoveAMD » Thu Aug 11, 2005 3:33 pm

Oh, and they're also on my "list" now too :(
GottaLoveAMD
K8 Athlon 64 X2 (Windsor) Elite Boarder
K8 Athlon 64 X2 (Windsor) Elite Boarder
 
Posts: 3985
Joined: Tue Mar 02, 2004 2:23 am
Location: Chicago

Re: Epox used crappy capacitors on the 8RDA+!!!

Postby Ytsejamer1 » Wed Nov 16, 2005 2:30 pm

MSI is guilty of the same thing although I'm not sure how long they used bad capacitors for. I think they stopped using bad caps quite awhile ago. Epox is still in the dark though. There's no reason for a company to have such a board of that late model still using the sub-par caps. They should have stopped sometime around the NF1 at the latest. MSI took care of me though even after the warranty expired on a few KT133 boards...and gave me an upgrade to boot. Luckily to this day, my old MSI Slot A board is good to go. They were probably a bit more stringent with QC when they released their first Athlon board though.
"Violence is the last refuge of the incompetent"
--"Salvor Hardin" (Issac Asimov)
Ytsejamer1
K7 Athlon (Argon) Junior Boarder
K7 Athlon (Argon) Junior Boarder
 
Posts: 371
Joined: Tue Mar 09, 2004 12:42 pm

Re: Epox used crappy capacitors on the 8RDA+!!!

Postby Catscratch » Sun Feb 11, 2007 2:51 pm

This is a very old topic but... I couldn't let it go that someone would read this and think bad about EPOX.

I had 8rda+ rev 2.2 & Sempron 2800 and it worked fine (actually it ran 24/7 almost a year) I upgraded to Epox MF4-Ultra3 & Athlon 64 3200. recently. 8rda+ will go to bro's computer. So i guess Epox used better caps on rev 2.2.
Catscratch
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 1:30 pm
Location: istanbul, türkiye

Re: Epox used crappy capacitors on the 8RDA+!!!

Postby Mechanix » Sun Feb 11, 2007 3:59 pm

Some companies will honor RMAs for bad caps well after the normal warranty period. It never hurts to call.
- Mechanix

Image
Mechanix
K7 Athlon XP (Barton) Senior Boarder
K7 Athlon XP (Barton) Senior Boarder
 
Posts: 802
Joined: Mon Mar 01, 2004 7:03 pm

Re: Epox used crappy capacitors on the 8RDA+!!!

Postby RthurDent » Sat Mar 10, 2007 9:31 am

I just had my 8RDA+ go south yesterday.....opened it up and sure enough, leaking caps all over the place. Twelve of them. What is amazing is the board has been working till just this week. I happen to have at least two other socket A boards that are not being currently used, so I won't try the RMA route.....it's not worth the effort.
RthurDent
 
Posts: 72
Joined: Mon Mar 08, 2004 2:33 pm
Location: Balmy Florida

Re: Epox used crappy capacitors on the 8RDA+!!!

Postby CHE » Sat Jul 14, 2007 5:19 pm

Rthur, good to see you. Wish it was under better circumstances, sorry about the MB.
Don't look up
CHE
K8 Athlon 64 (Winchester) Expert Boarder
K8 Athlon 64 (Winchester) Expert Boarder
 
Posts: 1363
Joined: Mon Mar 01, 2004 11:20 pm


Return to Epox

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest