Text Size

K10: Barcelona, Shanghai, Quad-Core Opteron, Phenom

Help! C32 or G34?

AMD's latest line-up of CPUs including Shanghai Opteron, Phenom and Phenom II X4 & X3, Athlon X2.

Help! C32 or G34?

Postby Synthetickiller » Wed Aug 03, 2011 6:25 pm

Hey guys!

I recently aquired 64gb of RDimm (4x16gb 1066mhz sticks) and my plans to use an intel cpu set up are gone and over with it. Xeon E7 costs too much and my E3 1270 won't support dimms larger than 8gb.

C32 or G34 are my only affordable option. I'm worried I might take a performance hit.

Here's what I'm using the rig for:
1. Windows Server 2008 R2 installed to bare metal
2. Here's my VMs
2.1 VM running Open Indiana to manage a ZFS Raid set up.
2.2 VM running some linux distro for a caching server.
2.3 VM Running a web portal.
2.4 VM running app server.

The main focus is the ZFS for back up. I wanted enough ram that no matter how much I expand, I have ram to allocate. The other 3 are optional, but are something I do want to set up.

This will only be for personal use, so I'm the only user.

So first, do I need a dual socket solution or is one enough?

If I only need one core, would I have better performance from a 6core 2.6ghz C32 or 8core 2.0ghz G34?
Synthetickiller
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Aug 02, 2011 4:40 am

C32 or G34?

Postby Synthetickiller » Wed Aug 03, 2011 6:33 pm

I want to know which is better for my upcoming server build:

C32 4180 2.6ghz 6core or G34 6128 2.0ghz 8core? Don't know if I need dual socket?

I have a 1kw PSU w/ dual 8pin power (Old Enermax Galaxy) and 4x16gb 1066 Rdimm.

Main OS: Windows Server 2008 R2
List of VMs:
1. Open Indiana running a ZFS Raid
2. Caching server
3. App Server/web portal
4. Another VM running Win 7 to play with (won't always be on).
5. Possibly an FTP server.

What would you guys recommend?

I'm trying to just buy what's appropriate. I got the ram as super low prices (the just 2x16gb I have was cheaper than 4x8gb sticks anywhere), so I don't want to drop a ton of money and a system, just something that will work where I won't be CPU limited. I'm not sure if dropping 2 cores and adding 600mhz will help or hurt.
Synthetickiller
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Aug 02, 2011 4:40 am

Re: C32 or G34?

Postby Pietro sk » Wed Aug 03, 2011 10:12 pm

Welcome to zone. :)
1-You will be better with C32, it has higher clockspeeds than G34. (G34 is 2 nodes on chip, like dual socket C32)
2- One host OS and 5 VM should be fine on sixcore.
3- Two socket C32 ? Yes, for upgradeability (just my opinion)
Let´s wait what guys recommend.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... 6813131670
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... 6813182246
Image
The famous intel lawsuit Image Moron is playing VIDEO-game
Not biased Cinebench ? Think again ... They say it´s "finetuned" for intel CPU´s .. Image
User avatar
Pietro sk
K8 Athlon 64 X2 (Windsor) Elite Boarder
K8 Athlon 64 X2 (Windsor) Elite Boarder
 
Posts: 3925
Joined: Fri Jan 08, 2010 3:59 pm
Location: Le sarcasm..

Re: C32 or G34?

Postby Synthetickiller » Thu Aug 04, 2011 1:08 am

Sorry for the double post.

I didn't realize that it would take time for the first post to appear, so I wrote a second. The second is more in line with what I want (when I think about it).

The mATX supermicro board you mentioned caught my eye. My current server was build on that formfactor. I do have an E-ATX case, so I can even fit dual G34 boards. The Asus ATX dual socket is kick @$$. Honestly, I'd either get either dual socket C32/G34 by Asus or a SuperMicro board.

An option to drop in bulldozer based opterons would be nice too. I've heard G34 will have support, but can't find much on C32.

I'll wait and see what you guys have to say.
If I get a deal on a G34 chip or two, I'll move in that direction (bang for buck), but buying outright, C32 will be faster.

Basically more cores (past 10 cores) is only good for multithreaded programs or high user count?
Synthetickiller
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Aug 02, 2011 4:40 am

Re: C32 or G34?

Postby Pietro sk » Thu Aug 04, 2011 9:52 am

Both sockets are BD ready, you need only update BIOS. mine got new version yesterday, I suppose this is BD .
What you wrote, it seems dual socket G34 is overkill. ( but later it may be handy ) :)
(you can leave second socket empty until needed)

Decisions, decisions.. :D
--------------------------------------------
Edit: Some desktop CPUs support dimms up to 8GB. Available dimms on market are only Registered types. (8GB and above, but desktop chips doesn't support these) IIRC, LGA1155 xeons doesn't support registered
Image
The famous intel lawsuit Image Moron is playing VIDEO-game
Not biased Cinebench ? Think again ... They say it´s "finetuned" for intel CPU´s .. Image
User avatar
Pietro sk
K8 Athlon 64 X2 (Windsor) Elite Boarder
K8 Athlon 64 X2 (Windsor) Elite Boarder
 
Posts: 3925
Joined: Fri Jan 08, 2010 3:59 pm
Location: Le sarcasm..

Re: C32 or G34?

Postby brutis » Thu Aug 04, 2011 11:09 am

I would go with the dual C32.

As Pietro said you can run 1 socket and have the other for a future upgrade if needed. The ASUS board he linked to is about the same price as a single socket SM or TYAN.

Now with all that being said some of us are using desktop memory on our 4p G34 boards viewtopic.php?f=521&t=138490
Image
Image
User avatar
brutis
K8 Opteron (SledgeHammer) Moderator
K8 Opteron (SledgeHammer) Moderator
 
Posts: 5966
Joined: Sat Mar 06, 2004 2:36 pm
Location: so there I was...

Re: C32 or G34?

Postby Synthetickiller » Thu Aug 04, 2011 8:42 pm

I'm really leaning towards C32. The board is $150 less if you're comparing dual sockets.

I might go for dual quads just to see how heat goes. Prices for that aren't too bad compared to one 6 core. I'll have to see!
Synthetickiller
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Aug 02, 2011 4:40 am

Re: C32 or G34?

Postby Pietro sk » Thu Aug 04, 2011 9:08 pm

Synthetickiller wrote:I'm really leaning towards C32. The board is $150 less if you're comparing dual sockets.

I might go for dual quads just to see how heat goes. Prices for that aren't too bad compared to one 6 core. I'll have to see!

If you postpone a bit, you can go BD instead. I personally would wait, it isn´t that away.
Image
The famous intel lawsuit Image Moron is playing VIDEO-game
Not biased Cinebench ? Think again ... They say it´s "finetuned" for intel CPU´s .. Image
User avatar
Pietro sk
K8 Athlon 64 X2 (Windsor) Elite Boarder
K8 Athlon 64 X2 (Windsor) Elite Boarder
 
Posts: 3925
Joined: Fri Jan 08, 2010 3:59 pm
Location: Le sarcasm..

Re: Help! C32 or G34?

Postby Synthetickiller » Sat Aug 06, 2011 9:45 pm

Thanks for the help guys.

I managed to pick up a supermicro G34 board and a 6134 for cheap. :wink:

I fiugred the 8 cores will come in handy. It's only 2.3ghz, but I think I can push the HT to 210 and get 2.4 if it's really necessary.

I also picked up a noctua NH-U12DO A3. Should keep everything cool and quiet.

I'd have gone C32, but this was actually cheaper. I don't think 300mhz will make that much of a difference.

By the way, are C32 and G34 the came performance, clock for clock, thread for thread? I can't find much comparison between these opterons and any other chips.


I'll move to BD later when prices drop again.
Synthetickiller
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Aug 02, 2011 4:40 am

Re: Help! C32 or G34?

Postby D-EJ915 » Sun Aug 07, 2011 3:54 am

The 6100 series is basically two 4100 chips in one package so taking everything else out of the equation they would have the same performance.
Asus KGPE-D16 + 2x6128 ===== Asus M4A785 + II X2 250
Sun Ultra 20 M2 + 1214 ======= Soyo KT600 + 2400+
Supermicro H8DME-2 + 2x2384 = 2x Supermicro H8DME-2 + 2x 2419
HP DL585 G2 + 4x8218 ======= HP DL585 G6 + 4x8431HE
9 systems. 85 cores. 100+GB RAM.
D-EJ915
 
Posts: 42
Joined: Thu Sep 23, 2010 1:44 am

Re: Help! C32 or G34?

Postby Synthetickiller » Tue Aug 23, 2011 10:00 pm

I'm running ESXi, Open Solaris w/ Napp-it managing a ZFS raidz1, Win Server 2008 R2, and working on getting OS/2 warp 4 and another VM up and running.

This is such a great set up. Intel wouldn't let me use my RDimms unless I spend a few thousound on a CPU.

The heatsink is also great, super quiet, but it blocks my 16x slot. I don't need it, but my expansion optoins are limitted to two cards. PCI is useless.

I'm now looking forward to bulldozer based CPUs. I want more power!

Thanks alot guys.
Synthetickiller
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Aug 02, 2011 4:40 am

Re: Help! C32 or G34?

Postby Pietro sk » Wed Aug 24, 2011 11:16 am

You´re welcome
Image
The famous intel lawsuit Image Moron is playing VIDEO-game
Not biased Cinebench ? Think again ... They say it´s "finetuned" for intel CPU´s .. Image
User avatar
Pietro sk
K8 Athlon 64 X2 (Windsor) Elite Boarder
K8 Athlon 64 X2 (Windsor) Elite Boarder
 
Posts: 3925
Joined: Fri Jan 08, 2010 3:59 pm
Location: Le sarcasm..


Return to K10: Barcelona, Shanghai, Quad-Core Opteron, Phenom

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 2 guests